I yoga’d yesterday

And it felt so good! I finally joined a gym three months ago after years of yoga as my main workout. After a few months of cardio + strength workouts, I’m in the best shape of my life and have been feeling so much more confident, energetic and strong. But earlier this week I realized something was missing– my muscles are sore, my body feels tight and I’m not nearly as flexible.

My gym offers yoga on Mondays and Wednesdays so I decided to check out a class. Every yoga instructor is different, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I usually enjoy yoga classes that are higher intensity and have me sweating a bit. Instead, the instructor chose a slower pace that focused on hip stretches. Quite honestly, the stretches were nearly excruciating! Especially since I have issues with my left hip, spending an hour focusing on slow, painful hip stretches was difficult to say the least.

At the end of the class, I didn’t feel as invigorated as I usually do after a high intensity yoga class, but I did feel wonderfully relaxed. While part of me felt I had missed out on a cardio workout, I realize that health and fitness is about total body health and flexibility is a huge part of that!

So…lesson learned. I’m going to make an effort to attend a yoga class a few times a month to balance cardio and strength work with flexibility. I can’t wait to yoga again soon!

Leave a Reply

