90s Flashback Weekend

My weekend was crazy busy and I didn’t make it to the gym once. It was for a good reason though, since my parents were in town for my dad’s high school reunion!

Friday night I had a craving for pizza, so after Brandon got off work we had dinner in Petaluma at Rosso Pizzeria and Mozzarella Bar. I wish I had taken a picture of our appetizer and pizza, because it looked delicious and tasted just as good! For the appetizer we had burrata (the restaurant’s homemade mozzarella) and prosciutto. For our entrée, we ordered the Moto Guzzi, a pizza with smoked mozzarella, roasted onions, swiss chard and spicy sausage. Both were delicious, and we had a great date night people watching and chatting from our table on the patio.

In the morning, I woke up bright and early to drive to Lodi, California, where my Dad graduated high school. It was really important to him that I attend his reunion and see where he went to school. They had a ceremony where they announced all the featured classes and took class pictures afterwards.

photo

My mom and I at the ceremony. Also, look at what I found on the walls of the academy’s gym (where the ceremony was held).

photo1

My dad’s high school graduation photo! Excuse the glare, it was in a glass frame. My dad had a great time at his reunion, and I was happy I was able to share it with him.

Saturday evening, I met up with a few girlfriends in Petaluma. My friend Roseanne and I kicked off the evening at Taps, our favorite brewery and restaurant in Petaluma. A little later we met up with Noelle and Jaime at The Social Club.

photo4

photo2

We had a pleasant surprise when we realized the restaurant had a DJ playing early 90s songs. We LOVED every song he played. Noelle even went to get his business card to keep him in mind for parties or weddings! We had a great time singing along to Blackstreet, Mariah Carey, Michael Jackson and more of our 90s favorites.

Brandon took Sunday off so we could hang out with my parents and we met them for brunch. We ate at a café in Pleasanton, and though the portions were huge, I wasn’t crazy about my food. It was so nice to have my parents in town for a bit and to catch up in person rather than over the phone.

In the evening, Brandon and I were still feeling full from our huge breakfasts and wanted to do something active. We bought a Nerf ball (remember those? another 90s flash back!) to our local park and threw it around for a bit.

photo2

The fiancé is very serious about Nerf ball! haha. It was a fun way to end the day!

Leave a Reply

