Upcoming Fitness Events

This weekend I will be running my first 5K! I’m joining a big group of friends to run the color run Saturday morning in Santa Rosa. Since it’s a color run, the atmosphere will be relaxed and most of the members of my group are treating it as a fun run rather than running for a great time. I’m so relieved the pressure will be low for my first race!

I’m also a little terrified I’ll never be able to get rid of the color as most of the pictures I’ve seen of the event look like this:

imagesCA5PQ1YK

Another concern is that I’ve put zero thought into what I’ll be wearing. I met up with a few girlfriends last night who are running the event and they had their outfits completely planned. They’re both wearing tutus and brightly colored clothes and told me if I showed up without flare I would be in big trouble.

IMG_6896

I’ve seen a lot of pictures of people wearing tutus to the race, so this seems like a pretty common thing, but I’m not sure I’m brave enough to wear a tutu while running! I think a trip to the Halloween store is in order to see what I can find.

In other fitness news, I made my first appointment with a personal trainer for next Monday. I’ve been delaying meeting with a personal trainer since for some reason it intimidates me but I finally bit the bullet. I feel like I’ve reached the max of what I can do on cardio and strength machines and need some help to really get to the next level.

In the future I’d like to run a few races, get involved in some more serious weight lifting and maybe even try Cross Fit. Even though I feel much healthier and in better shape than I was before joining a gym 6 months ago, I know that my fitness journey has just begun.

4 thoughts on “Upcoming Fitness Events

  1. Hi Kimberly! I have never run a Color Run, but my guess is to wear something that you don’t mind getting dirty. I think it is great that you are running your first 5K and I am sure you will enjoy the experience. I commend you for getting out of your comfort zone and seeing a personal trainer, and I am sure he or she will help you grow.

Leave a Reply

