All About Fall

This past weekend was filled with fun fall activities. I’m usually not someone who is super into holidays or celebrating the passing seasons, but this year I’m definitely in the spirit.

Brandon and I spent last week pulling together our costumes for a Halloween party on Saturday. Usually I’m a total grouch about Halloween and declare I don’t want to dress up until the day off and then scramble to find a costume. Brandon was really excited about dressing up this year though, so he got me in the spirit.

We had some fun at our local Halloween store:

photo3

I was tempted to go as a peacock, but decided to make my costume because putting the pieces of the peacock costume together was over $60! I mean, really now. Costumes have gotten expensive these days.

Friday night I spent the night at home, relaxing on the couch. Someone was happy to have me home for the weekend…

photo

That’s Harrison’s TGIF face. 😉

We made stuffed bell peppers for dinner Friday night and they turned out absolutely amazing.

photo5

We stuffed a few large green bell peppers with lean ground turkey, diced tomatoes, onions, garlic with some sriracha mixed in and cheese baked on top. Delicious! My mom used to make these whenever the weather got colder while I was growing up so they seem like the perfect fall meal.

Saturday night we went to a Halloween party at a friend’s house and had a great time hanging out with everyone and seeing their costumes.

photo2

Most of the costumes were completely inappropriate and hilarious. We’re definitely getting old because we left the party before midnight while everyone else was still going strong.

Sunday morning we had brunch and then headed over to the Petaluma Pumpkin Patch. I had read online that they occasionally have food vendors and I expected there to be a lot of activities, but besides a large playpen of corn for kids and the corn maze that you can pay to walk through, there aren’t many activities offered. We bought some kettle corn (yay!) and wandered through the pumpkin patch for a while.

photo6

The pumpkin patch has been open for a few weeks so it’s slim pickin’s as far as pumpkins go! Gotta get there early, I guess!

When we got home, I finished off our weekend of fall festivities by baking pumpkin spice cookies.

pumpkin-cookies1

I didn’t use exact measurements, but threw some pumpkin, flour, baking powder, cinnamon, vanilla extract, butter, eggs and sugar into the mix until the consistency looked right. I made a cream cheese frosting from butter, cream cheese, powdered sugar and vanilla extract. Then I proceeded to polish off 3 (or 7) cookies as soon as they came out of the oven. The perfect end to the weekend!

Leave a Reply

